Orthorexia Nervosa: Are You Healthy, or Mentally Disordered?

29 Jun

It’s a crazy world, right?

That was my immediate reaction when I first heard about Orthorexia Nervosa, an eating disorder that some of my clients already ‘suffer’ from, and which others are attempting to develop.

Orthorexia Nervosa is, apparently, the psychological disorder that leads people to pursue a healthy diet.  It is characterised by an avoidance of ‘unpure’ foods such as caffeine, sugar, dairy, as well as GM or non-organic produce.

Yes, if you’re thinking that this sounds like a person attempting to follow a healthy diet, we’re on the same wave length…

And yet this theory has been around since 1997, and mostly affects middle-class, well-educated people who inform themselves about the qualities of their food and have the money and resources to source purer alternatives.

While I’m not about to start offering an Orthorexia Nervosa support group, this does raise a serious point about the wide availability of information… ‘information overload’ as it’s commonly known.  The fact that anyone with an Internet connection can research and construct their own opinions about anything, including food, has many advantages, but it needs to come with a warning.  Always remember that anyone can set up a blog or website and state their own opinions as fact.  Always get your information, and advice, from a professional.

But back to today’s topic, what’s your opinion on Orthorexia Nervosa?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

One Response to “Orthorexia Nervosa: Are You Healthy, or Mentally Disordered?”

  1. Jillybean June 29, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    I completely agree and at times have to stop myself from getting caught up in advice and the constant barrage of information. I like to think that mostly I listen to my body and alter my foods according to how I feel!

    But it has taken years to get there and careful recording of food to check for intolerances. If I believed everything I read I wouldn’t eat anything – in fact I wouldn’t touch water or breath the oxygen!!!

    Jill x

Leave a Reply

